NORTHERN CRICKET UNION OF IRELAND

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2015

Minutes of the Union's Annual General Meeting held in the Newforge Clubhouse on 13 October 2015.

1. Apologies

An apology was received from M Power.

2. Minutes of the Previous AGM

The minutes of the 2014 AGM held on 13 October 2014 were agreed as a correct record on the proposal of C Jackson and seconded by N Matthews.

3. Adoption of Annual Report and Statement of Accounts

The General Secretary Bryan Milford spoke on the 2015 Annual Report. He advised of an addendum to the report reflecting that Simon Johnston had won Cricket Ireland's Coach of the Year award and Mark Hawthorne Umpire of the Year.

The Annual Report was adopted on the proposal of J Caldwell, seconded by P McMorran.

The Hon Treasurer Dawn Johnston spoke on the 2015 Statement of Accounts which showed a surplus of £5k though a one-off income item of £3.5k relating to an investment showing in the accounts at its market value chiefly accounted for this.

Dawn advised that she was standing down as Hon Treasurer after 13 years in post . She thanked all those she had worked with and in particular the Union's clubs.

The Statement of Accounts was adopted on the proposal of R Johnson, seconded by J Caldwell.

The President W Boyd made a presentation of a gift to Dawn to mark her work over so many years.

4. Election of Honorary Officers

It was noted that nominations to the Honorary Officers' position had been invited by 15 September 2015.

The General Secretary advised that the following nominations had been received:

		Nominated by
President:	P McMorran	Management Board
Vice President	R Johnson	Management Board
Chairman	A Clement	Management Board
Vice Chairman	A Waite	Management Board
Hon Secretary	J Quinn	Management Board
Hon Treasurer	K Chada	Management Board
Director of Domestic Cricket	N Matthews	Management Board
Director of Representative Cricket	B Walsh	Management Board
Director of Finance and Policy	R Johnson	Management Board

The nominees were declared elected.

5. Election of Assistant Directors

It was noted that nominations to the Assistant Director positions had been invited by 15 September 2015.

The General Secretary advised that the following nominations had been received:

Nominated by

Domestic Cricket RF Bell Management Board

Representative Cricket A Waite Management Board

Finance and Policy (2) M Power Management Board

W Boyd Management Board

The nominees were declared elected.

6. Election of Club Nominees to Management Board

It was noted that nominations from clubs to the Management Board had been invited by 15 September 2015.

The General Secretary advised that the following nominations had been received:

Nominated by

Daniel McConkey CIYMS CC
David Skelton Derriaghy CC

The nominees were declared elected.

7. Election of Club Nominees to Directorates

It was noted that nominations to Directorates had been invited by 15 September 2015.

The General Secretary advised that the following nominations had been received:

Nominated by

Domestic Cricket Directorate

Norman Graham Armagh CC
Charles Henderson Muckamore CC
Andrew Rose Instonians CC
David Skelton Derriaghy CC

Representative Cricket Directorate

Ian JohnstonCarrickfergus CCAndrew RoseInstonians CC

Finance and Policy Directorate

Alistair Burton Carrickfergus CC
John Caldwell Ballymena CC
Andrew McCullough CIYMS CC

The nominees were declared elected.

8. Election of Auditors

Cleaver Black were elected as the Union's auditors on the proposal of R Johnson, seconded by W Boyd.

9. Proposed Alterations to General and Competition Rules

- **Serial 1.** Proposed by Management Board. To permit a Chairman to serve for a maximum of three consecutive years. Carried.
- **Serial 2.** Proposed by Domestic Cricket Directorate. To correct the wording of Competition Rule A1. Carried.
- **Serial 3.** Proposed by Management Board. To fix the latest date for cup registrations and starrings approximately 2-3 weeks later than hitherto. Carried.
- **Serial 4.** Proposed by Management Board. To permit replacement overseas players approved after the normal cut-off date for cup competitions to play in cup competitions. Carried.
- **Serial 5.** Proposed by Management Board. To make existing bye-law (s) relating to Sunday fixtures a Competition Rule. Carried.
- **Serial 6.** Proposed by Domestic Cricket Directorate. To make existing bye-law (u) relating to the use of net run rate a Competition Rule. Carried.
- **Serial 7.** Proposed by Domestic Cricket Directorate. To reiterate, in the terms of Law 8(a), that it is solely for the umpires to determine the fitness of conditions for play, regardless of whether or not the captains agree. Carried.
- **Serial 8.** Proposed by Instonians CC. To extend the use of the DLS method to Junior League 1. Lost.
- **Serial 9.** Proposed CIYMS CC and Instonians CC. To reduce the maximum innings length in Junior League 1 from 50 to 40 overs.

An amendment from North Down CC that both clubs may agree in advance to play 50 overs was lost. The serial was lost.

- **Serial 10.** Proposed by Instonians CC. To permit clubs to agree in advance to shorten matches in Junior League 1 to 40 overs a side. Carried.
- **Serial 11.** Proposed by Domestic Cricket Directorate. In a Match 1 to restrict the allowance for lost time before overs are deducted to 30 minutes, even where an early starting time had been agreed. Carried

- **Serial 12.** Proposed by Domestic Cricket Directorate. In a Match 2 to restrict the allowance for lost time before overs are deducted to 30 minutes, even where an early starting time had been agreed. Carried.
- **Serial 13.** Proposed by Domestic Cricket Directorate. To clarify the minimum length of innings for a valid match in Senior League 3 and Junior Leagues 2 and below. Carried.
- **Serial 14.** Proposed by Management Board. To allow teams in Senior League 3 and Junior Leagues 2 and below two weeks longer to play rearranged fixtures and to make the Competitions Committee rather than the Section Secretary responsible for imposing rearrangements. Carried.

10. Honorary Life Membership

W Boyd proposed that Honorary Life Membership of be conferred on J Caldwell in recognition of his exceptional service to the Union.

The proposal was passed by acclaim.

J Caldwell thanked the meeting for the honour done to him.

11.Presentation of McMorran Award

The President P McMorran presented W Best of Laurelvale CC with the McMorran Award for voluntary service to cricket.

12.Any Other Business

W Boyd thanked all clubs who had welcomed him during his term of office as President.

He thanked the Management Board for its support and in particular thanked A Clement, R Johnson and B Milford.

He wished P McMorran well in his time in office..

P McMorran thanked W Boyd for all his work in the past. He regards it as a great honour to have been elected President and looked forward to meeting all clubs over the next two years.

N Matthews advised that the Union will shortly be appointing its own Development Officer.

A Waite spoke on youth development including the creation of a regional academy under A White to be announced shortly.

The meeting concluded at 9.30pm.